Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Share |

ACT History

The initial American College of Theriogenologists organizing committee consisted of:
Drs. David Bartlett, C.J. Bierschwal Jr., Lloyd C. Faulkner, John Kendrick, Fayne Oberst, Stephen J. Roberts, Raimunds Zemjanis.

Initial members considered names for the new College. To develop a name for the College, Professor Herbert Howe, Department of Classics, University of Wisconsin was consulted. After much consideration Theriogenology was chosen; therio(=beast or animal) + gen/genesis (=beginning, birth, reproduction)+ology (=study of)

CHARTER MEMBERS                                                                                   

Dr. Bill Adams
Dr. Les Ball
Dr. CAV Barker
Dr. David Bartlett-organizing committee
Dr. Clarence Bierschwal-organizing committee
Dr. Bill Brown
Dr. Cliff Callahan
Dr. Ed Carroll
Dr. Bill Cates
Dr. Tracy Clark
Dr. Lloyd Faulkner-organizing committee
Dr. John Hughes
Dr. John Kendrick-organizing committee
Dr. Don Lamond
Dr. Les Larson
Dr. Charles Martin
Dr. Bill McGee
Dr. Doug Mitchell
Dr. Dave Morrow
Dr. Fayne Oberst-organizing committee
Dr. Steve Roberts-organizing committee
Dr. Floyd Sager
Dr. Bill Wagner
Dr. Donald Walker
Dr. Bob Wescott
Dr. John Williams
Dr. Elmer Woelffer
Dr. Ray Zemjanis-organizing committee

ACT Past Presidents

Mission Statement

The mission of the ACT is to promote animal well-being, reproductive health, responsible breeding and genetic practices, and efficient management of breeding-age animals in agriculture, veterinary practice, zoos, preserves, and ecosystems. In particular, the ACT envisions development of focus areas in theriogenology to incorporate the following in theriogenology/reproductive medicine:

1. Population control for domestic and non-domestic animals including feral animals, free-ranging and captive wildlife.

2. Genomics in livestock and companion animal practice.

Contact Us

American College of Theriogenologists
761 Tiger Oak Drive
Pike Road, AL 36064-3063
P: 334-395-4666
F: 334-270-3399

Click here to email us
Copyright 2019. American College of Theriogenologists. All rights reserved.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal